2019 PharmD Graduation Dinner draws more than 300 attendees

The Doctor of Pharmacy faculty and staff hosted the PharmD Class of 2019 and their guests on Wednesday, May 8 for a special graduation dinner to celebrate and highlight the students’ accomplishments.

After a catered meal served by our PharmD faculty, Dean Michael L. Adams (’96 PharmD, PhD) welcomed everyone and shared some interesting facts about the class:

  • 95 Doctor of Pharmacy degrees will be awarded at this graduation
  • 76 students calls NC home, while the while the remainder call home places as close as South Carolina, Virginia, Georgia and Tennessee and as far away as New York, Pennsylvania, California and Jamaica
  • 22 of them hold an undergraduate degree from Campbell
  • 29 in the class will earn a dual degree
  • 850 month-long rotations completed equaling more than 135,000 hours of work

Students graduating with cum laude, magna cum laude and summa cum laude status were recognized by Dr. Scott Asbill, associate dean of Academic Affairs. These graduates achieved high academic success with GPA rankings of at least 3.50, 3.70 and 3.90 respectively.

Mark Moore (PharmD ’00/MSCR ’07), associate dean of Student Affairs and Admissions, presented senior awards to 11 deserving students. Award winner Devan Mitchell said, “The graduation dinner was a wonderful opportunity to celebrate and conclude the four-year journey that our class has taken together. Having the CPHS faculty and staff and our families in attendance, all of whom supported us along the way, meant the world to us and made the event even more special. Being recognized as the recipient of the CPHS Alumni Association Senior Award for my support of the Alumni Association and CPHS and the CPHS Student Affairs Outstanding Leadership Award for my leadership and professionalism was truly a blessing and an honor that I will cherish forever.”

The class voted to honor Dr. Kim Kelly and Dr. Steve Davis as Preceptors of the Year. Dr. D. Byron May chair of Pharmacy Practice, read glowing comments from student evaluations and threw in some personal anecdotes. 






Sara Jones, senior class president, announced the senior superlatives and then provided remarks followed by the announcement from class treasurer, Devan Mitchell, of a class gift to the Dr. Robert “Bob” Garrett Memorial PharmD Endowed Scholarship.

Marcus Stanaland (’14 PharmD, ’14 MSCR, ’14 MBA), CPHS alumni board president, welcomed the class as members of the CPHS Alumni Association and then led the students in taking the Oath of a Pharmacist. All pharmacists present participated in the recitation to reaffirm their commitment to the profession.

After closing remarks by Dean Adams, the senior class chaplain Donald F. Gabel, Jr. provided the benediction. Students, their family and friends, and the faculty and staff who challenged and encouraged them during the past four years all gathered to take photos and share stories one last time before graduation day.

Senior Awards

Academy of Student Pharmacists Senior Recognition Certificate
Jerry Dychman

Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences’ Alumni Association Senior Award
Devan Mitchell

Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences’ Student Affairs Outstanding Character Award
Ashley Smith

Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences’ Student Affairs Outstanding Leadership Award
Devan Mitchell

Eli Lilly and Company Pharmacy Achievement Award
Jen Adema

Gerald M. Stahl Pharmacy Practice Faculty Award
Mary Miller

Mylan Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Excellence in Pharmacy Award
Carrie Baker

National Community Pharmacists Association Outstanding Student Member Award
Taylor Scott Wells

Pharmacy Practice Christian Citizenship Award
Derick Gabel

United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award
Tess Wells

Wolters Kluwer Facts and Comparisons Award for Excellence in Clinical Communications
Madison Gaskins

Senior Superlatives

Most Likely to Walk In To Class Late
Pratham Patel

Most Likely to Ask the Most Questions in Class
Noelle Nelson

Most Likely to be in Every Club
Devan Mitchell

Most Likely to Become a Professor
Jen Adema

Most Likely to Advocate for the Profession
Jerry Dyckman

Most Likely to Help Write Clinical Guidelines
Jenna Sorgenfrei

Most Likely to Become a Residency Program Director
Tess Wells