Campbell faculty chosen to serve on statewide board, committees

Six Campbell faculty members were selected to serve in various roles with professional organizations – North Carolina Association of Pharmacists (NCAP) and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP).

Dr. Byron May, chairman  and professor of the Department of Pharmacy Practice, shared, “We would like to congratulate all the candidates on their newly appointed roles in service to these organizations and to the profession. In addition to these roles, Dr. Beth Mills, clinical assistant professor of Ambulatory Care, will serve as the 2021 NCAP President.”

Dr. Paige Brown, assistant dean of Interprofessional Education and clinical associate professor of Pharmacy Practice was elected to serve as secretary for the NCAP Board of Directors. Brown graduated from Campbell’s Doctor of Pharmacy program in 2006 and has served in various capacities such as clinical pharmacist, pharmacy education specialist, clinical assistant professor, and vice chair of Experiential Education. Brown is active in numerous college and university committees. She serves as an advisor to multiple student groups and believes in enhancing an environment of learning centered around interprofessional collaboration.

Brown shared, “I am excited to serve my fellow North Carolina pharmacists in the role as Secretary for NCAP. It is important that we continue to work to improve pharmacy practice across the state of North Carolina, and NCAP undoubtedly continues to work diligently in this endeavor. The advancement of pharmacy practice throughout North Carolina is a responsibility I take very seriously, and I am grateful for the opportunity to work alongside exceptional colleagues from across the state in doing so. Through increasing membership of NCAP and expanding awareness of issues related to pharmacy practice within and beyond our own state, NCAP will continue to serve as a major stakeholder and pathway to optimizing our profession for years to come.”

Dr. Riley Bowers, clinical assistant professor of Pharmacy Practice, was chosen to serve as an At-Large-Member for the NCAP Board of Directors. Bowers graduated from Campbell in 2015 and was hired on as faculty, after completing a PGY2 in Internal Medicine, in 2017. In addition to his teaching responsibilities, Bowers has been a part of various publications and research projects, and he sits on numerous college committees. He shared, “It is an honor to be selected for an at-large position on the Board of Directors by the NCAP voters. I am excited to work with a great group over the next three years to promote a unified front for the profession and identify new opportunities for pharmacy practice in North Carolina!”

NCAP described their Practice Academies as a way to meet the special needs of individual practice settings by providing forums and other specific content and resources. Membership dues help support the work of the Practice Academies and these member-elected positions are for a 2-3 year term. Three Campbell faculty members were selected to serve on various NCAP practice academies.

Dr. Amber McLendon, associate professor of Pharmacy Practice, will serve as Chair-Elect for the Chronic Care Practice Academy. Dr. Catherine Wente, clinical assistant professor of Pharmacy Practice, will serve as the At-Large Member for the Health-System Practice Academy. Dr. Katie Trotta, clinical assistant professor of Pharmacy Practice and Campbell’s Health Center Pharmacy Manager, will serve as an At-Large Member for the Community Care Practice Academy.

In addition to Campbell’s NCAP presence, Dr. Erika Giblin, clinical pharmacy specialist at Vidant Medical Center and clinical assistant professor at Campbell, was recently selected to serve on the ACCP Research Scholarship Committee. Giblin will serve a two-year term. She shared, “My position is with the Research and Scholarship Committee through the Cardiology PRN (Practice and Research Network) for ACCP. A few charges I am faced with in this role include providing seed grant selection and oversight, reviewing and voting on best research paper awards, supporting the MeRIT research program for trainee research skills development, and creating a network for research collaboration for pharmacists across the country.”

About NCAP
NCAP is the essential and sole organization representing and fostering the advancement of pharmacy in North Carolina. Your membership helps to build awareness, create value, and generate a voice for pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and student pharmacists. While you are taking care of your patients and practices, the Association’s role is to take care of you, by protecting and advancing our profession. Every dollar of your membership dues goes to support: the development of resources and educational programming; the work of our Board, practice academies, forums, and special interest groups; our advocacy agenda; practice advancement initiatives; committees and general operations.

About ACCP
The American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) is a professional and scientific society that provides leadership, education, advocacy, and resources enabling clinical pharmacists to achieve excellence in practice, research, and education. ACCP is the professional home for clinical pharmacy practitioners, scientists, educators, administrators, students, residents, and fellows from more than 60 countries committed to excellence in clinical pharmacy.