Campbell Law advocates among top brief writers at national workers’ comp moot court competition

Photo of Jennifer Davis '20, Brittany Levine '20 and Judge Allegra Collins '06

ORLANDO, FLORIDA — Campbell Law student advocates advanced to the quarter-final rounds and were recognized among the top brief writers in the E. Earle Zehmer National Workers’ Compensation Moot Court Competition held Aug. 11-12.

The team was made up of third-year students Jennifer Davis and Brittany Levine and coached by North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Allegra Collins ’06. These dynamic advocates bested teams from Baylor Law School and Southern University Law Center before losing a close round in the quarterfinals. The team was also recognized for writing the third best brief in the competition.

The annual E. Earle Zehmer National Workers’ Compensation Moot Court Competition is held at the Florida Workers’ Compensation Convention. Attorneys from around the country participate in the convention in order to discuss legal issues in the area of workers’ compensation that is specific to their state. The competition involves writing a brief as either respondent or petitioner and then arguing the case in front of a panel of judges. Each team consists of two or three JD candidates attending the same American Bar Association-approved law school. The competition consists of two qualifying rounds with each team arguing at least once on behalf of the respondent and the petitioner.

Celebrating 31 years of existence this year, the E. Earle Zehmer National Moot Court Competition included 26 teams from 10 states. Co-sponsored by the National Association of Workers’ Compensation Judiciary (NAWCJ) and the Workers’ Compensation Institute (WCI), the preliminary and quarterfinal rounds were judged by members of the NAWCJ. The final round on Monday was judged by a panel of the Florida First District Court of Appeal. A primary purpose of this competition is to enhance workers’ compensation as a major part of the educational curriculum of participating law schools, according to the website.

Participating in the competition were advocates from the following law schools:

Baylor Law School (Texas)
Campbell University, Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law (North Carolina)
Charleston School of Law (South Carolina)
Florida A&M University College of Law
Florida Coastal School of Law
Florida International University, College of Law
Florida State University College of Law
Lincoln Memorial University Duncan School of Law (Tennessee)
Michigan State University College of Law
Mississippi College School of Law
Northern Kentucky University, Chase College of Law
Nova S.E. University Shepard Broad Law Center
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Arizona State University
Southern University Law Center (Louisiana)
University of Florida Frederic G. Levin College of Law
University of Louisville, Brandeis School of Law (Kentucky)
University of Miami School of Law


Since its founding in 1976, Campbell Law has developed lawyers who possess moral conviction, social compassion, and professional competence, and who view the law as a calling to serve others. Among its accolades, the school has been recognized by the American Bar Association (ABA) as having the nation’s top Professionalism Program and by the American Academy of Trial Lawyers for having the nation’s best Trial Advocacy Program. Campbell Law boasts more than 4,200 alumni, who make their home in nearly all 50 states and beyond. In 2019, Campbell Law is celebrating 40 years of graduating legal leaders and 10 years of being located in a state-of-the-art facility in the heart of North Carolina’s Capital City.