Campbell Law alumni inducted into 2020 N.C. Pro Bono Honor Society

RALEIGH — Thirty-six Campbell School of Law alumni were recently inducted into the 2020 North Carolina Pro Bono Honor Society. The Society celebrates attorneys who have met their professional responsibility by increasing access to justice for those in need. Society members reported providing 50 hours or more of pro bono legal services in 2020 to clients unable to pay and without expecting a fee. The 50-hour aspirational threshold was set by Rule 6.1 of the North Carolina Rules of Professional Conduct, which encourages a variety of activities that the society encourages and celebrates in addition to pro bono work.  

A total of 589 attorneys were inducted into the society for their contributions in 2020. This group of attorneys provided nearly 55,000 hours of pro bono services out of the 67,750 hours reported for 2020. In all, 1,648 attorneys, or 5.5% of active attorneys in North Carolina, contributed their services to North Carolinians in need. 

“Pro bono lawyers stepped up to assist North Carolinians in a time fraught with unprecedented challenges” said North Carolina Pro Bono Resource Center Director Sylvia Novinsky.  

North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Paul Newby, an adjunct professor at Campbell Law, added,“Many North Carolina attorneys recognized the needs brought about by COVID-19 and provided pro bono legal services to help ensure that ‘justice shall be administered without favor, denial, or delay,’ as is mandated by our state’s Constitution.” 

Society members receive a certificate from the Supreme Court of North Carolina in recognition of their valuable contributions.   

A list of Campbell Law Alumni inducted into the society follows:   

 Steven Todd Adams ‘98 

Tiffany Anne Lesnik ‘11 

Sarah Elizabeth Barnes ‘14 

Emily Kate Mather ‘14 

Theodore Fuller Mitchell ‘96 

Joseph Paul Morahan III ‘12 

Page D. Morgan ‘84 

Robert C. Carpenter ‘07 

Sloan L. E. Carpenter ‘18 

Jaquelinne Murillo Figueroa ‘19 

Michael Armstrong Myers ‘06 

Floyd Henry Cooke III ‘18 

Michael Joseph Crook ’12 

Meredith Laughridge Cross ’08 

Shannon Colleen Poore ’05 

John Benjamin Reeves ’04 

Amy H. Fix ‘97 

Kristin Holmquist Ruth ‘90 

David Gantt ‘81

Eleanor Redhage Gilroy ‘13 

Kathryn Carlton Setzer ‘03 

Logan Hunter Shipman ‘19 

Austin Mitchell Grabowski ‘17 

Ayeshinaye Itihyma Holt Smith ‘19 

Jonathan Clark Strange ‘08 

Julie Gillis Walker ‘05 

Thomas G. Walker ‘90 

Thomas Brandon Jaynes ‘09 

Martin Warf ‘04

Richard Allan Waugaman III ‘12 

Todd A. Jones ‘98 

Misti Boles Whitman ‘02 

Jeffrey Masaaki Kelly ‘13 

Colon Willoughby Jr. ‘79

Daniel Joseph Knight ‘14 

Nathaniel Cosmo Zinkow ‘18 


 Since its founding in 1976, Campbell Law has developed lawyers who possess moral conviction, social compassion, and professional competence, and who view the law as a calling to serve others. Among its accolades, the school has been recognized by the American Bar Association (ABA) as having the nation’s top Professionalism Program and by the American Academy of Trial Lawyers for having the nation’s best Trial Advocacy Program. Campbell Law boasts more than 4,300 alumni, who make their home in nearly all 50 states and beyond. In 2021, Campbell Law is celebrating 45 years of graduating legal leaders and 12 years of being located in a state-of-the-art facility in the heart of North Carolina’s Capital City.