Campbell Law alumni installed on N.C. Court of Appeals

Photo of inside of empty N.C. Court of Appeals Courtroom

Newly-elected Judge Tobias (Toby) Hampson, a 2002 Campbell Law graduate, and Judge Allegra Collins, a 2006 Campbell Law graduate and most recently a full-time Campbell Law faculty member, will be formally installed on the North Carolina Court of Appeals (COA) in January.

Hampson, who is a member of the law school’s Board of Visitors, will be sworn-in during ceremonies at 2 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 11, in the COA courtroom located at 1 West Morgan St. in Raleigh.

Photo of Judge Tobias (Toby) HampsonCollins, who will continue to teach as an adjunct member of the faculty, will be sworn-in during ceremonies at 2:30 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 17,  in the COA courtroom located at 1 West Morgan St.

Both ceremonies can be watched live on the N.C. Judicial Branch Facebook page.

The Court of Appeals is North Carolina’s intermediate appellate court. Fifteen judges hear cases in panels of three. The Court of Appeals reviews the proceedings that occurred in the trial courts for errors of law or legal procedure; it decides only questions of law — not questions of fact.

Law - Allegra CollinsHampson is a partner at Wyrick Robbins Yates & Ponton LLP in Raleigh, where he led the firm’s Appellate Litigation Practice Group.  He also assisted municipal clients with land use and zoning issues, including appeals from quasi-judicial and legislative zoning decisions. He previously served as a law clerk to Judge K. Edward Greene, Judge Wanda Bryant, and Judge Robert C. (Bob) Hunter on the North Carolina Court of Appeals from 2002 to 2004. Prior to joining Wyrick Robbins in 2007, he practiced with Patterson Dilthey in Raleigh with an emphasis on trial and appellate litigation.

Collins joined the faculty in a permanent position as an assistant clinical professor and director of the externship program beginning with the 2016-17 academic year. Prior to her full-time appointment, Collins had served as the interim director of Campbell Law’s legal research and writing program and a visiting assistant professor of law.