Campbell Law recognizes Class of 2019 achievements

Photo of Derek Dittmar receiving his LLM award from Nottingham Law School's Matthew Homewood

RALEIGH — Campbell Law School conferred 104 Juris Doctor degrees at its 41st annual hooding and graduation ceremony on Friday, at Memorial Auditorium at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. As part of the ceremony, the following awards were announced:

 The Howard Memorial Christian Citizenship Award is awarded to the individual whose citizenship and leadership exemplify the Christian character and aspirations of the School of Law. Established by the Howard Memorial Christian Education Fund in memory of Barry Howard.

  • Hannah Marie Wallace of Fuquay-Varina

Third-Year Academic Achievement Award is awarded to the graduating student with the highest academic average in his or her third year.

  • Kaitlyn Elizabeth Fudge of Oxford

Richard A. Lord Outstanding Graduate Award is awarded to the individual who excels academically as well as in additional endeavors thereby contributing fully to the School of Law, his or her peers, and the legal profession. This award, which recognizes overall excellence, was established by Campbell Law Professor Emeritus Richard A. Lord.

  • Hannah Marie Wallace of Fuquay-Varina

Jessie and Elizabeth Leonard Valedictorian Award established by Dean J. Rich Leonard for the graduating valedictorian, named in honor and memory of his parents.

  • Kaitlyn Elizabeth Fudge of Oxford

Dean’s Outstanding Improvement Award is awarded to the individual exhibiting the most outstanding academic improvement over his or her law school career. The recipient is selected by the Dean and Associate Dean.

  • Jaquelinne Murillo Figueroa of Kannapolis

Robert A. Jenkins Award is awarded to the individual whose work in various competitions or other areas best represents the School of Law to the community, the profession, and the public

  • Tatiana Marie Terry of Durham

National Association of Women Lawyers Award is awarded to an individual based on academic achievement, motivation, and potential to contribute to the advancement of women in the profession.

  • Elizabeth Stewart Foley of Richmond, Virginia

Student Bar Association Service Award is awarded to the individual who provides unusual service to the student body and the School of Law.

  • Elizabeth Stewart Foley of Richmond, Virginia

International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award is awarded for distinguished achievement in the student advocacy program.

  • Nichad Dominique D’von Davi of Greensboro

North Carolina Advocates for Justice Student Advocacy Awards Sponsored by North Carolina Advocates for Justice. Awarded for the most significant improvement during the required advocacy program.

  • Elizabeth Stewart Foley of Richmond, Virginia
  • Patricia McCall of Cashiers
  • Jaquelinne Murillo Figueroa of Kannapolis
  • Matthew David Sparks of Shelby
  • Briana B. Way of Henrietta, New York
  • Tyler Alexander Willis of St. Louis, Missouri

Calhoun Advocacy Award is awarded for the best performance in the trial and appellate advocacy program. Established by M. Jean Calhoun, Class of 1980.

  • Anna Claire Turpin of Gretna, Virginia

Safran Moot Court Award is awarded for outstanding contribution to the moot court program at the School of Law. Established by Perry R. Safran, Class of 1981.

  • Derek James Dittmar of Raleigh

Rebecca Ann Phillips Memorial Award was established by the Class of 2011 in memory of their classmate. Awarded to the individual who exemplifies honorable ideals and demonstrating an interest in representing victims of domestic violence.

  • Allan Grant Simpkins of Greensboro

Outstanding Clinical Student Award is awarded for excellence in clinical fieldwork and for exceptionally thoughtful, self-reflective participation in an accompanying clinical seminar. Sponsored by the Clinical Legal Education Association.

  • Brianna B. Way  of Henrietta, New York

ALI CLE Scholarship & Leadership Award is awarded to the individual who best represents a combination of scholarship and leadership, the qualities embodied by the American Law Institute.

  • Tatiana Marie Terry of Durham

Pro Bono Publico Award  is awarded to the individual whose demonstrated commitment to pro bono activities exemplifies the aspirations of the School of Law and the best intentions of the legal profession.

  • Ayeshinaye Itihyma Holt Smith of Wendell

American Bankruptcy Institute Medal of Excellence is awarded to a graduating student for excellence in bankruptcy coursework or other achievements demonstrating a dedication to improving the bankruptcy laws and the bankruptcy bar. Sponsored by the American Bankruptcy Institute.

  • Kayla Ives Russell of Burgaw

University of Nottingham Law School Dean’s Award

  • Derek James Dittmar of Raleigh

The Order of Barristers

Membership in the national society recognizing outstanding performance in the art of advocacy.

  • Joonu-Noel Andrews Coste of Dover, New Hampshire
  • Nichad Dominique D’von Davis of Greensboro
  • Derek James Dittmar of Raleigh
  • Maurizo S. Lewis-Streit of Guyana, South America
  • Taylor George McCallman of Fayetteville
  • Katelyn Webb Miller of Rocky Mount
  • Tatiana Marie Terry of Durham
  • Anna Claire Turpin of Gretna, Virginia
  • Ashley Urquijo of Cary
  • Hannah Marie Wallace of Fuquay-Varina

Order of Old Kivett

Awarded for exemplary representation in advocacy competitions while maintaining the highest ethical standards.

  • Jeffrey Dobson of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
  • Melanie Anne Huffines of Southern Pines
  • Terra Nicole Johnson of  Wilkesboro
  • Misty Marie Juhasz of Sheffield Village, Ohio
  • Stefan Joseph Longo of Commack, New York
  • Rosa Maria Reyes Moreno of Mount Airy
  • Alexandra Nicole Puszczynski of Wake Forest
  • Reghan Deans Schmidt of Wilson
  • Allen Grant Simpkins of Greensboro
  • Sarah Michelle Skinner of Madison, Indiana

Summa Cum Laude

  • Kaitlyn Elizabeth Fudge
  • Hannah Marie Wallace

Magna Cum Laude

  • Sara Tyler Carter
  • Rebecca Zambo Cooper
  • Christy Cochran Dunn
  • Melanie Anne Huffines
  • Stefan Joseph Longo
  • Hannah Katherine Michalove
  • Tyler Alexander Willis

Cum Laude

  • Gavin Adams Bell
  • Williams Baldridge Britt
  • Kelsey Nicole Dorton
  • Baylee J. Hapeman
  • M. Ashton Herring
  • Jenna T. Hornik
  • Alexandra Marie Johnson

  • Lindsey Martin

  • Patricia McCall

  • Taylor George McCallman

  • Araca Landis Miller

  • Laura Kathleen Potter

  • Kayla Ives Russell

  • Logan H. Shipman

  • Joanna Marie Smith

  • Eric Greenlee Steber

  • Madison Drew Vance

  • Paul William West

  • Kelly Jo Williamson



Since its founding in 1976, Campbell Law has developed lawyers who possess moral conviction, social compassion, and professional competence, and who view the law as a calling to serve others. Among its accolades, the school has been recognized by the American Bar Association (ABA) as having the nation’s top Professionalism Program and by the American Academy of Trial Lawyers for having the nation’s best Trial Advocacy Program. Campbell Law boasts more than 4,200 alumni, who make their home in nearly all 50 states and beyond. In 2019, Campbell Law will celebrate 40 years of graduating legal leaders and 10 years of being located in a state-of-the-art facility in the heart of North Carolina’s Capital City.