Campbell Medicine honors Class of 2018, faculty and staff at Awards Ceremony

Campbell Medicine Awards Dinner 2018

More than 300 gathered in Gore Arena for the Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine’s Awards Ceremony recognizing academic achievements of the Class of 2018 as well as faculty and staff. This is the second awards celebration for North Carolina’s newest medical school and the first of three ceremonies to mark Campbell Medicine’s graduation week.

Campbell Medicine Awards Dinner 2018
Scott Bland, Class of 2018 president

“Medical school has been a momentous change in most of our lives. It’s really surreal that at the end of the week, we will all be doctors,” said Scott Bland, Class of 2018 president.

Over 50 awards were presented to the graduates to honor their individual and collective achievements including the Dean’s Award received by Benjamin Byerly and the Dr. Jerry M. Wallace Award awarded to Julie Aldrich and Paul Pikman.

“I am so proud of our students and how much they have grown over their four years here. I appreciate your hard work and dedication to your studies, as well as your servant hearts,” said Dean John M. Kauffman, Jr.

Faculty and staff honored at the ceremony included six physician preceptors who assisted in educating and training Campbell’s future physicians at each of the School’s regional clinical campuses and in Buies Creek.

Final recipients to receive recognition for the evening were the invaluable contributors of the award-winning Community Care Clinic — a student-run clinic that provides free healthcare to the uninsured in Harnett County and the community, 10 Health Professions Scholars (HPSP), 35 students who have served on medical missions trips and the Class of 2018 leadership.

“We were given many things here at Campbell — outstanding faculty and staff, remarkable facilities and a solid curriculum,” said Katherine Haga, Class of 2018 Student Government Association president. “I saw our class stand up for not only what is right, but what should be different. It is a true privilege that we get to be physicians.”

For more information about the School of Medicine’s graduation week, visit Digital images available on Facebook.

Campbell Medicine Awards Dinner 2018

Campbell Medicine Class of 2018 Award Recipients

Award Recipients
Distinguished Biomedical Science Award Brittany Milliner
Distinguished Clinical Science Award Ninad Zaman
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Family Medicine Katherine Haga, Nicholas May, Sarah Burroughs, Christopher Smith, Victoria Lipinski and Luke Ennis
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Pediatrics Lea Choi, Meredith St. Clair, Kelli Rummings, Emma Ciborowski, Alexa Martin and Caitlin Irwin
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Obstetrics and Gynecology Jessica Cicoria, Molly Gruber, Laura Marsh, Jayson Tripp, Alexa Martin and Toni Schlick
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Internal Medicine Syed Sohail, Akshar Jaglan, Crystal Cobb, Emma Ciborowski, Michelle Scribner and Matthew Toeneboehn
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Surgery Brian Duxbury, Olusegun Onibonoje, Kaila Yeste, Christopher Smith, Seth Beeson, Luke Ennis
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Psychiatry Stephanie Carbone, Kevin Fox, DeeAnna Hess, Stanley Traylor, Krista Ulisse, Dana Leventhal
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Geriatrics Sabrina Tavella, Keiko Wadsworth, Chaseton Nielsen, Kateland Bennett, Ashan Hatharasinghe, Rachel Angstadt
Distinguished Clinical Scholars Emergency Medicine Jessica Yap Holman, Andrew Isbell, Kalie Gargano Murphy, Cecily Lehman, Ashan Hatharasinghe, Kristin Stuive
Distinguished Student of the Region Award Mary O’Hara, Olusegun Onibonoje, Kalie Gargano Murphy, Emma Ciborowski, Alexa Martin, Benjamin Byerly
Global Health Award Rebecca Laurine
Dr. Jerry M. Wallace Award Julie Aldrich and Paul Pikman
Dr. William F. Morris Award Adam Huryta
Student Research Award Johnny Jaber
Dean’s Award Benjamin Byerly


Campbell Medicine Faculty and Staff 2018 Award Recipients

Award Recipients
Preceptor of the Year: Lumberton Dr. Richard Johnson
Preceptor of the Year: Fayetteville Dr. Sumit Kalra
Preceptor of the Year: Raleigh Dr. Stephen DeMeo
Preceptor of the Year: Harnett Dr. Tommy Chang
Preceptor of the Year: Salisbury Dr. Matthew Harrison
Preceptor of the Year: Goldsboro Dr. Subodh Pal
Biomedical Faculty Award Dr. Adnan Siddiqui
Clinical Faculty Award Dr. Chris Stewart
Outstanding Staff Award Ms. Jennifer Parrish
Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence Dr. Warren Lushia