Campbell Pharmacy graduate named NCPA Independent Pharmacist of the Year

BUIES CREEK, North Carolina – Joseph Moose, PharmD, independent community pharmacist and co-owner of Moose Pharmacy in Concord, North Carolina, was announced as the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) 2015 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year. Moose is a member of the charter class of the Campbell University School of Pharmacy, now the College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences.

The announcement came during the First General Session at the NCPA 2015 Annual Convention on Sunday, Oct. 11, in National Harbor, Maryland.

The Independent Pharmacist of the Year award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and to their community. The award is named in honor of Willard B. Simmons, a former executive secretary of NCPA (which was then known as the National Association of Retail Druggists) and a long-time NCPA Foundation trustee.

Most recently, Moose made waves in the pharmacy community through his work with the Community Care of North Carolina (CCNC) on developing ways for community pharmacies to manage work flow and the patient population.

Essentially, the grant-funded work has the main purpose is to create a care plan with patients post-hospital discharge and engage community pharmacists and case managers to enforce the best plan of action. The goal is to remain in contact with patients to prevent drug interactions, non-adherence, and possible trips back to the hospital. This project is funded by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.