Campbell Pharmacy student association receives first place awards

The Campbell University School of Pharmacy chapter of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) received three first place awards at the 2006 Annual National Pharmaceutical Association Convention held in Philadelphia, Pa., July 28-August 1. Pharmacy students Courtney Blackwell, Samantha Arrington, Benzena Smalls and David McLean along with faculty advisor, Dr. Vikki Armstrong, attended the meeting. The chapter set a new record, winning three first place awards: the Chapter Excellence, Operation Immunization and Community Service awards. “Campbell’s SNPhA has been very active this year in implementing programs supporting its purpose and objectives and has made a mark in the community,” said Armstrong. “Among other activities, the chapter participated in the readiness and enrichment program for minority pharmacy students, PREP; a school supply drive; a Hurricane Katrina relief; a hunger relief effort; a diabetes fundraiser, Tour de Cure; the Leukemia & Lymphoma Rock & Roll Marathon and Poison Prevention for Youth.” In addition, through volunteer involvement with Operation Sickle Cell in Fayetteville, the members were able to assist with the Cumberland County Minority Health Summit, raising money through the annual HIV/AIDS Awareness Gospel Extravaganza held in Turner Auditorium on the Campbell University campus. The Campbell chapter also partnered with Wal-mart and Kroger to provide diabetes education and helped spearhead an immunization initiative. The SNPhA is an educational service association of pharmacy students who are concerned about the profession of pharmacy, health care-related issues and the poor minority representation in pharmacy and other health-related professions. The purpose of SNPhA is to plan, organize, coordinate and execute programs geared toward the improvement of the health, educational and social environment of the community.Photo Copy: From left, Benzena Smalls, SNPhA treasurer; Dr. Vikki Armstrong, director of Assessment and Evaluation for the School of Pharmacy; and Dr. Ronald Maddox, dean of the School of Pharmacy.

This article is related to: