Campbell names presidential search committee, firm

Comprising representatives of the university’s faculty, staff, alumni, trustees and students, committee will assist search firm CarterBaldwin with identifying the next president

Gene Lewis, chair of the Campbell University board of trustees, announced the formation of a 12-person presidential search committee and selection of a search firm to identify and recommend candidates to succeed J. Bradley Creed as the institution’s next president. The decision follows an announcement in April that President Creed will retire in the summer of 2025. The committee includes representatives from Campbell’s faculty, staff, alumni, trustees, and students.

Lewis said he is confident in the committee’s ability to undertake this task. “This diverse search committee represents the solidity of our university and its unique strengths,” said Lewis, who will also serve as chair of the presidential search committee. “This team will identify a visionary leader who will help ensure Campbell University is poised for continued success while maintaining the values that have cemented this institution as a leader in North Carolina’s higher education ecosystem.”

Members of the presidential search committee are as follows:

Board of Trustees Members

  • James Eugene “Gene” Lewis III, Chair (’95), senior vice president and wealth advisor, UBS Financial Services
  • Frederick “Fred” L. Taylor II (’92), president, Troy Lumber Company
  • Jeff Roberts, DMin, senior pastor, Trinity Baptist Church in Raleigh
  • Joseph “Joe” C. Hall, Jr., retired businessman
  • Robert “Bob” L. Whiteman, trustee emeritus

Alumni Representatives

  • Rebecca Brock (’97), (’01 MBA), president, Alumni Board of Directors, senior vice president and fiduciary director, Truist Wealth
  • Wanda Watkins (’79), (’81 MEd), former head women’s basketball coach

Faculty Members

  • Michael L. Adams, (’96 PharmD), vice president for academic affairs and provost
  • David L. Tolentino, DO, associate dean for clinical affairs and associate professor of internal medicine, Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Edward Fubara, PhD, associate dean for academic affairs and professor of business, Lundy-Fetterman School of Business

Staff Member

  • Deborah Gibbs, University bursar

Student Member

  • Aviel Eubanks, executive president of the Student Government Association, political science and pre-law major

Campbell retained leading executive search firm CarterBaldwin to facilitate the search for the university’s next president. CarterBaldwin has experience conducting president and chancellor searches for numerous other religiously-affiliated institutions, including King University, Pepperdine University, Samford University, Liberty University, and Charleston Southern University.

CarterBaldwin and the search committee will undertake an active national search to identify a diverse field of promising candidates. Following interviews, reference checks, and possible campus visits, the committee will narrow the field and recommend candidates for the presidency to the board. A new president is expected to be named by the first quarter of 2025 and begin their duties on July 1.