CPHS Pharmacy Preceptors of the Year

Pharmacy preceptors play an integral role in training future healthcare providers. Preceptors work in many different practice settings allowing pharmacy students the opportunity to gain first hand pharmacy experience. The College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences (CPHS) recently recognized three outstanding preceptors for the class of 2020.

Dr. Connie Barnes, a graduate of Campbell’s pharmacy charter class, was the first Campbell drug information resident. She joined the Campbell faculty in 1991 and has served diligently for 30 years as a teacher and mentor.

Dr. Byron May, chair of Pharmacy Practice, observed, “It would take me forever to list all of the accomplishments and contributions Dr. Barnes has made to the university and our pharmacy program. Her dedication to the education of Campbell students and residents is unmatched.”

Dr. Barnes currently works in an administrative role at the Campbell Drug Information Center.

Dr. April Cooper joined the faculty in November of 2006 after completing her bachelors and PharmD at UNC. She went on to complete a clinical pharmacokinetics residency at UNC before joining Duke Regional Hospital as a clinical specialist. Dr. Cooper has been the foundation of Campbell’s relationship with Duke Regional, where she teaches and mentors students and residents.

Dr. May shared, “April is loved and adored by everyone and is able to create a bond of admiration and respect among those she works with.”

Dr. Scott Perkins joined CPHS in January of 2014 after receiving his PharmD and completing his residency in Drug Information (DI) from Wingate University School of Pharmacy. Known for his outside-the-box attitude, Dr. Perkins supplements his teaching career with his own podcast, and has made appearances on pharmacy internet radio.

Dr. Tina Thornhill, associate professor of Pharmacy Practice and vice chair of Experiential & Professional Education shared, “Dr. Perkins has a passion for teaching combined with a tremendous personality.”

According to Campbell students, all three of these preceptors are approachable, patient, encouraging and comforting. They went above and beyond to help students develop critical thinking skills, and students appreciated their use of technology and patient-centered teaching.

Dr. May concluded, “It is an honor for me to acknowledge the many years these faculty have served our department and CPHS as clinical educators and to recognize them as the Class of 2020’s Preceptors of the Year.”