Creed to serve as Big South Conference vice president

The Big South Conference Council of Chief Executive Officers announced Campbell President J. Bradley Creed will move into the role of Vice President beginning January 2018. Previously, Creed served two years as a member of the council.

Campbell is a proud member of the Big South Conference. I am pleased to serve the conference in this capacity along with my other presidential colleagues,” said Creed.

Longwood University President W. Taylor Reveley IV will take the helm of the conference as Big South President.

Founded in 1983, the Big South Conference is made up of 10 member institutions located within North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia, with the University of South Carolina Upstate and Hampton University (Virginia)  joining in 2018.

“With the recent addition of two new member schools and other developments, this is an exciting time to be in the Big South Conference.”

With a growing presence as an NCAA Division I conference, the Big South Conference continues to grow its athletic accomplishments, innovative marketing and media partnerships, increased television packages and commitment to fostering leadership development of its student-athletes.

Campbell University was a founding member of the league but departed in 1994. The Fighting Camels rejoined the Big South in 2011 for all sports, except football. Coach Mike Minter and the Fighting Camels football team currently remains in the Pioneer Football League until 2018 when it will transition back to the Big South and scholarship play

The Big South Conference is headquartered in Charlotte, N.C. and staffed by a dozen professionals specializing in collegiate athletics, compliance, public relations, marketing and broadcast services. 

Big South Full-Time Member Institutions:
  • Campbell University
  • Charleston Southern University
  • Gardner-Webb University
  • High Point University
  • Liberty University
  • Longwood University
  • Presbyterian College
  • Radford University
  • UNC Asheville
  • Winthrop University