Ezzell named Campbell University Distinguished Government Alumnus

Buies Creek, N.C.- Mark Ezzell, of Raleigh, N.C., was named a Distinguished Government Alumnus of Campbell University at the University’s Homecoming Weekend festivities on Saturday, Oct. 30. Ezzell is director of Communications and Policy for the North Carolina Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Community Collaborative, a statewide organization that promotes vigorous science and math education.

A native of Rocky Mount, N.C., Ezzell graduated from Campbell in 1985 with a Bachelor of Arts in Government. He continued his studies at North Carolina State University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Ezzell also graduated from the North Carolina Institute of Political Leadership.

A leader in the state political arena, Ezzell has developed and led several public policy advocacy initiatives. From 2002-2006, he chaired the North Carolina Council on Developmental Disabilities, and in 2007 he was appointed to the advisory council to the Department of Vocational Rehabilitation. Ezzell is the founder of the North Carolina Grants Information Network, an organization that brings grant writers and grant seekers in government, nonprofit management and education together to share information and advocate for increased resources. Ezzell is also a founder of the North Carolina Disability Action Network, a voice for people with disabilities and those concerned about human service issues. He has served three state agencies as legislative liaison to the N.C. General Assembly and Congress and is the founder of ACCESSvote, a nonpartisan, statewide initiative to encourage disabled North Carolinians to vote in the 2000 election.

An avid athlete, Ezzell is an accomplished cyclist and a member of Team Everest ’03, a group of adventurers with and without disabilities who ventured to the base of Mt. Everest.


Photo Copy: Campbell alumnus Mark Ezzell, right, receives the Distinguished Government Alumnus award from Dr. James Martin, chair of the Department of Government, History and Justice. (Photo by Bennett Scarborough)