Gerstner named next chair, director of Physician Assistant Practice program

Laura R. Gerstner, MHA, MSHS, PA-C, has been named the new chair and director of Campbell University’s Physician Assistant Practice program.

Gerstner brings a wealth of experience to this role, having served as associate program director and associate professor since 2022 and previously as director of clinical education for more than a decade. She has been with the PA program nearly since its inception, helping to build and expand clinical education. Before joining Campbell, she was affiliated with the Duke University Physician Assistant Program as a preceptor and lecturer, lending her clinical expertise is in orthopedics.

Gerstner is currently pursuing a Doctor of Health Sciences degree from Campbell and holds a Master of Healthcare Administration from UNC Chapel Hill, and a Master of Science in Health Sciences from George Washington University, among others.

Throughout her career, Gerstner has earned recognition for her excellence in teaching and service, including the  College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2021. Her leadership and vision for the PA program were evident during the recent ARC-PA self-study and successful onsite visit.

In her new role, Gerstner said she is excited to build upon the program’s strong foundation, enhancing the curriculum and clinical experiences to prepare students for the complexities of healthcare delivery. She is highly regarded by her colleagues and the broader university community for her focus on student development and rural health.

“We are delighted to have Mrs. Gerstner step into this leadership role within the College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences,” said Dr. Jeff Mercer, dean of the College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences. “Her dedication to excellence, innovative vision for the program and unwavering support for faculty and students alike make her the ideal choice to lead our Physician Assistant Program into the future.”

Gerstner takes on this new role effective June 1.