Maddox receives North Carolina’s highest pharmacy award

Pharmacy Dean Dr. Ronald Maddox, center, receives the 2014 Bowl of Hygeia

RALEIGH — The North Carolina Association of Pharmacists (NCAP) awarded Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences’ founding dean, Ronald Maddox, PharmD, with the 2014 Bowl of Hygeia Award at this year’s annual meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina. The Bowl of Hygeia is the highest honor bestowed by NCAP and is presented to a pharmacist who has compiled a record of outstanding service to his or her community and profession.

The prestigious award was established in 1958 by E. Claiborne Robins, Sr., to recognize pharmacists possessing outstanding records of community service and civic leadership. Today, participating state pharmacy associations across the nation present the Bowl of Hygeia to worthy candidates who devote their time, talent, and resources to the pharmacy profession and their communities.

Before arriving at Campbell, Maddox was an associate dean and professor at Mercer University’s School of Pharmacy in Atlanta, Ga. During his tenure at Mercer, Maddox also served as a clinical pharmacist at the Georgia Baptist Medical Center, chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice, and relief pharmacist for a local retail pharmacy. Maddox received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and Army ROTC commission from Auburn University. Captain Maddox served as Pharmacy Officer at Ft. Sam Houston and Director of Pharmacy at Ft. Rucker. After completing his military service, Maddox earned his doctor of pharmacy degree at the University of Tennessee.

During his career, Maddox has received numerous recognitions including the North Carolina Pharmaceutical Association’s Award for Outstanding Service to the Profession of Pharmacy, and the American College of Apothecaries’ Dean’s Recognition Award for his dedicated service to independent pharmacy. He served as president of the board of trustees for the Fayetteville Regional Area Health Education Center, and currently serves as chair of the board of trustees for Harnett Health Systems and vice president of the North Carolina Institute of Medicine.