Marshall named honorary Doctor of Laws by Campbell University

Buies Creek, N.C.–Secretary of State Elaine Marshall received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from her alma mater Campbell University on Monday, May 12. Marshall, who graduated from Campbell’s Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law in 1981, delivered the 122nd commencement address at the Monday service.Elected to the office of North Carolina Secretary of State in 1997, Marshall has enjoyed a long career in state and local politics. From 1993-1994, she served as senator from North Carolina’s 15th District and was the Harnett County Democratic Party Chair and president of the Democratic Women of Harnett County. Prior to being elected Secretary of State, Marshall was a partner in the Lillington law firms of Marshall & Marshall and Bain & Marshall. She has been a teacher, the co-owner of a book and gift store and the owner of an interior design company.”I thank Campbell University for transforming my life with an excellent and Christian education,” Marshall said. “Campbell has prepared you with an intellectual level of learning and has structured your soul with a moral compass to know right from wrong.”Marshall has served on numerous boards and commissions, including the National Secretaries of State Standing Committee on Business Services and Licensing (chair), the Latin American Resource Center Board of Directors and the E-Government Committee of the North Carolina Information Resource Management Commission.Some of her honors and awards include the 2006 Lifetime Achievement Award for Women in Business from the “Triangle Business Journal,” the North Carolina Association of Educators (NCAE) Women’s Equality Award and the Distinguished Attorney Award from the North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys and the North Carolina Association of Educators’ Women’s Equality Award. Marshall has also received honorary doctorates from Lees-McRae College and Meredith College.Photo Copy: Secretary of State Elaine Marshall is hooded by Melissa Essary, dean of the Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law.

This article is related to: