Masters of Health Professions Education inaugural class graduates

The inaugural class of Masters in Health Professions Education graduates’ degrees were conferred on Dec. 11, during Campbell University’s Winter Commencement.

The inaugural class was a small cohort of three physicians who are committed to excellence in teaching and leadership in healthcare education — especially in rural and underserved communities.

“We are pleased to have our inaugural Masters of Health Professions Education (MHPE) class graduate along side five Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine,” said Dr. Jim Powers, interim dean. 

“The challenges COVID-19 highlighted this year are what inspired the mission for our medical school and specifically the MHPE degree – the need for leaders in healthcare education, as well as new physicians, to serve rural and underserved patient populations.  Ending 2020, with the graduation of the first MHPE Class is a true high note, and we look forward to seeing them go on to be leaders in healthcare education.”

The MHPE is the School of Osteopathic Medicine’s newest degree program and the curriculum will be delivered entirely online beginning in January 2021.  

“I’m very proud of this group of trailblazers.  They joined an unknown program, provided feedback to guide us through some initial challenges, and stuck with it through all the tumult of 2020,” Dr. Victoria Kaprielian, associate dean for professional development shared.  

“Future students in the MHPE program will benefit from the contributions of this group.  We’ve watched them develop new skills, face new challenges, and develop some great new initiatives.  Two are now moving on to new leadership opportunities, and the third graduate is already a Department Chair and Associate Program Director of a residency  We are very pleased to see them putting their learning to immediate use.”

Inaugural Masters of Health Professions Education Graduates:

Nancy Finnegan, DO
Thomas Motyka, DO
Monica Stanton, MD

Winter 2020 Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine Graduates:

So Kim
John Kozel
Daniel Moe
Alexander Pashayan
Joe Varner

For more information on all degree programs offered by the School of Osteopathic Medicine visit