Student newspaper recognized in two national contests

BUIES CREEK — Campbell University’s student newspaper placed in the Top 5 for overall excellence in a national contest organized by the Advisors of Christian Collegiate Media.

Contest coordinator Doug Trouten said judges evaluated the overall excellence in student publications in selecting The Campbell Times.

In addition, The Times won an Award of Merit from the Evangelical Press Association. In the award for student media, the judges cited The Times writers and editors Courtney Schultz, Courtney McGowan, Emily McIntosh, Hannah Hoffner, Sean Neal, Claudia Mundy and Taylor RaeAnne Smith.

“The Department of Communication Studies is pushing ahead with success not only with its print media, but with online media and broadcasting with our TV studio,” said Chair J. Dean Farmer of the students’ achievements. “Many of our students are cross-trained to both understand and apply competent communication in all areas of communication practice.”

Based near Los Angeles, ACCM is an organization committed to excellence in student media at Christian colleges and universities in the United States The Evangelical Press Association is made up of 400-plus members, including the national publication, Christianity Today.

Photo: The Campbell Times staff celebrates at a recent awards banquet. From left (front row) are Dennis Quinn, Lynjosha Russell, Emily McIntosh, Hannah Hoffner and Taylor Scott. Back row: Courtney Schultz, Katlyn Clark, Sean Neal, Sierra Fox, Claire Richie, Jordyn Gum, Courtney McGowan and Redula Nieves.